Posted in book reviews

And so it begins… The 2019 Tackle Your TBR Readathon

I’m so excited to announce I’ll be participating once again in the Tackle Your TBR Readathon hosted by Tess at Wishful Endings! Today is the first day and I’ve been reading Laura Elizabeth Woolett’s “Beautiful Revolutionary“. It’s a very interesting story inspired by the events at Jonestown in the 70s.

I REALLY need this right now! I’ll be posting more after the readathon is over about how much has been going on in my life in the past months, but it’s obvious from my blog that I haven’t had the opportunity to read or post as often as is usual for me. So I’m super excited to be using the readathon as a way to try to catch up a little – even if it turns out the “catching up” means I only finish one book!

I’ll be posting my progress from each day the morning after…so Day  one’s progress will be in a post tomorrow morning, Day Two’s on the 3rd day, etc…

Wish me luck and I pray for lots of extra reading time for all the other participants!

Posted in book reviews

Ultimate Blog Tour – Chasing Graves by Ben Galley

Hello, everyone!!! It’s my birthday AND Day 2 of the second ever Ultimate Blog Tour hosted by The Write Reads. This time around, the tour is even bigger and it’s spotlighting author Ben Galley. I chose to review the first book in his Chasing Graves Trilogy and I’m so excited to share this review as my birthday post with all of you!!!

Ultimate Blog Tour – Chasing Graves by Ben GalleyChasing Graves (The Chasing Graves Trilogy, #1) by Ben Galley
Published by BenGalley.com on December 7, 2018
Pages: 300
Source: The Write Reads
Goodreads
four-half-stars
Synopsis

Welcome to Araxes, where getting murdered is just the start of your problems.

"To say that the concept of Chasing Graves is grimdark would be an understatement... The world building is fantastic and reminiscent of Michael Moorcock’s Elric series.”– Grimdark Magazine

“Chasing Graves might well be one of the best releases not only for December but for the entirety of 2018.”– BookNest

“Galley has created a fascinating world that feels rife with stories… its history is rich with detail and there’s so many avenues to be explored.”– Adam Weller, Fantasy Book Review

“Dark, tense and surprisingly hilarious.”– Laura M. Hughes, Author of Danse Macabre

"With detailed characters, a twisting plot, and a heavy dose of gory darkness, Ben Galley has once again produced a fantasy you can sink your teeth into.”– The Grimmedian

“There’s serious grounds here for building something spectacular.”— Emma Davis, Fantasy Book Review

“A great first book to a series I sincerely can’t wait to complete.”– Novel Notions

————

Meet Caltro Basalt. He’s a master locksmith, a selfish bastard, and as of his first night in Araxes, stone cold dead.

They call it the City of Countless Souls, the colossal jewel of the Arctian Empire, and all it takes to be its ruler is to own more ghosts than any other. For in Araxes, the dead do not rest in peace in the afterlife, but live on as slaves for the rich.

While Caltro struggles to survive, those around him strive for the emperor’s throne in Araxes’ cutthroat game of power. The dead gods whisper from corpses, a soulstealer seeks to make a name for himself with the help of an ancient cult, a princess plots to purge the emperor from his armoured Sanctuary, and a murderer drags a body across the desert, intent on reaching Araxes no matter the cost.

Only one thing is certain in Araxes: death is just the beginning.

————

From award-winning author Ben Galley comes a new dark fantasy trilogy. Inspired by Egyptian mythology and packed with dark humour, action, and intrigue, the Chasing Graves Trilogy is perfect for fans of Michael Moorcock, Brandon Sanderson, Scott Lynch and Joe Abercrombie.

————

“Chasing Graves is a dark, compelling entry into a trilogy.”– RockStarlit Book Asylum

“I enjoyed this book immensely, there rarely ever being a moment when I felt ready to put it down before I finished it.”— Diogo Capelo, Goodreads Reviewer

"Chasing Graves, with its well paced and tight plot is complex, intricate and rewarding. I can’t wait to put my hands on the sequel.”– Lukasz P, Goodreads Reviewer

“The characters are fantastic, colourful and well-rounded.”– Al Burke

I received this book for free from The Write Reads. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I’m used to stories where being among the undead is a good thing…like centuries old vampires. And I’m not really into zombie tales, but that chick in iZombie seemed to be alright.

But in chasing graves, the undead are basically slaves to the living in a city where the only way to get ahead is to kill or be killed so your murderer can claim not just your property, but your soul!

Basically, this is a totally different kind of undead story…

Your thrust into this world where a wife is crossing the desert with her dead husband’s ghost in order to bind him to her and claim his property. The woman’s name is Nilith and I absolutely loved her! (Actually, there weren’t many characters I didn’t love) I spent almost the entire book thinking what does this woman and her dead husband have to do with the rest of this story and when I got to the part where it told me I literally screamed out loud! I shouldn’t have questioned it though, because literally everything is tied together somehow in this book!

After the intro where you meet Nilith, you’re introduced to a thief who’s been lured to Araxes (the City of Countless Souls) with the promise of silver only to be murdered shortly after arriving. Caltro manages to get himself into all kinds of not so great situations with the living, the dead, and even some dead gods…

The world building in Chasing Graves is probably some of the best I’ve read in fantasy lately. There are even short snippets of history thrown in at the beginning of every chapter and I felt as though as I was reading about a real place.

There is SO much I want to talk about this book, but I have no idea how to say anything else without spoilers, so I’m just going to say I definitely recommend picking it up and giving it a read!

four-half-stars
Posted in Giveaway

Summertime Giveaway – WINNER ANNOUNCEMENT

Hello, everyone! The Summertime Giveaway, the first ever giveaway on Combing Through the Pages, officially ended last week and today I get to announce the winner!!!

Congratulations to SANDRA!!! Check you’re e-mail because you’ve won your choice of book from Book Depository!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thank you to everyone who participated!! This was a lot of fun for me to do and I’m already looking forward to running another giveaway soon.

Posted in Weekly Update

Studio Under the Stairs – Update #2

Well, my plan to write a weekly audiobook update already failed. I totally forgot to post one last week! So I guess this will be just like everything else on this site – I’ll post seemingly random, yet with some sort of vague sense of an organizational schedule…

Currently Recording:

I finished recording What Kind of People Ought We to Be: Preparation for the day of the Lord by Patsy Scott last week. This week, I’ll be finishing up The Rose Diary by Curtis Maynard.

I’m really loving this story and I’m really hoping everyone enjoys the final product as much as I’m enjoying recording it!! Here’s the deets from Goodreads:

Studio Under the Stairs – Update #2The Rose Diary by Curtis Maynard
on March 26, 2019
Pages: 201
Goodreads
Synopsis

A young girl dies mysteriously from what can only be explained as a rare illness. Her younger sister finds a diary in her room that has never been written in. Day by day the book reveals a new writing that urges the young girl to investigate the death. From encounters to the writings, there is a story to be heard, a mystery to be solved.

I’ll have some Audible-US and Audible-UK promo copies available once The Rose Diary goes on sale, so if you’re a book blogger interested in a review copy, let me know! (Please specify whether you’ll be needing a US or UK code in your message.)

Currently Available:

The following titles are currently available on Audible, Amazon, and iTunes:

Blood and Deceit by Laura Greenwood (I still have some promo codes available for this title. Contact Me if interested in obtaining a review copy.)

Bible Made Easy by Sarah O. Annie

Ghost Stalker by Isabella Bailey

Pearl Port Singer by Natashiah Jansen

Posted in book reviews

WWW Wednesday – June 12, 2019

So… Happy Wednesday!!!  It’s time once again for WWW Wednesday ! WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.
Don’t know what WWW Wendesday is or how to participate??? All you need to do is answer the following three questions and link back to Taking on a World of Words, or you can put your answers in the comments on her blog! (You can also leave your link in my comments to be sure I don’t miss your post!)

The three WWW questions are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently reading:

WWW Wednesday – June 5, 2019

I didn’t manage to finish The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin last week, but should finish it up this week and then I’ll be moving on to the next book on the Harvard Classics list!

WWW Wednesday – June 5, 2019

I finished up Hillbilly Elegy and now I’m beginning Appalachian Reckoning. I just started it so I’m not gonna say much here other than… I’m currently reading it.

Recently Finished:

WWW Wednesday – June 5, 2019

The only book I managed to finish up reading this past week was Hillbilly Elegy. Pretty much my entire household has been sick and so that’s about all I had time for. I’m hoping this next week’s reading goes better!

Hillbilly Elegy really got to me though… I guess you could say it hit home a little too hard.

Reading Next:

WWW Wednesday – June 5, 2019

Half Finished by Lauraine Snelling
Published byFaithWords on March 26, 2019 
ISBN: 1478920076 
Pages: 324 
Goodreads

WWW Wednesday – June 5, 2019

The LunaticsPublished byCreatespace Independent Publishing Platformon April 17, 2012 
ISBN: 1475183399 
Pages: 234 
Goodreads

Posted in Thing 1 Rants

Thing 1 Introduces a (hopefully) Semi-regular New Segment: Thing 1’s Thoughts and Rants

Hello readers of Combing Through the Pages, it is I, Thing 1, the eldest of my mother’s children.

Wow. That was more dramatic than I thought it would be.

Anyway… I’m here to introduce a new segment of posts that I will be doing this summer that are just going to be me ranting about things that I feel strongly about or about some random thought that I recently had.

These posts will hopefully be posted on a semi-regular basis on Friday. I make no promises on that though cause I’m a procrastinator at heart and it’s hard to keep that in check when it’s summer. So apologies in advance if this segment ends up not happening that often, but I will try my best.

I do hope that you all will enjoy the rants and thoughts that I do end up posting about. And I hope that you’ll find them as entertaining as me and my mom do.